Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Freelancer bidding

Highlighted
Fabian G Member Since: Feb 10, 2017
1 of 11

Hi, 

I am new to upwork but had posted some jobs on elance.com before.

I am wondering about the budget if I am posting a new job/project to hire freelancers.

Perhaps my English is not good enough to understand the word budget but in my opinion it means the maximum amount I want to spend on a project. If there are some freelancers who can make the job with less money they can bid less to get the job. In this way it worked on elance.com.

I posted one little job here for 50 $ to test the platform, but there was no response of freelancers to make it for less money. 

Is it not possible to bid for a job or was 50 $ insufficient money for the job?

For example on elance.com I don’t mind about the budget, I wrote my job description and waited for the bids of the freelancers. Then I made my decision depending on qualification and bid.

Does this word here on upwork in the same way or not?

Regards and thanks for your help Fabian

Highlighted
Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
2 of 11

Fabian, it works the way you describe, but freelancers can bid more than your stated budget if they want to. So in your case, maybe $50 was too low for the job you had in mind. Anyway, if you do not want to pay more than your budget under any circumstance, then state in your job description that bids higher than your budget will not be accepted.

3 of 11

Hi John,

thanks for your answer.

Is it normal on upwork to bid higher than the budget?

I ask because the system on elance was really easy about the price. Every freelancer made his bid and I could choose the right one.

50 $ for my first project, I found someone who made it really good and fast. But no one bid under 50$

Now I am a little concerned about the budget, because in biger projects, I can’t estimate the price because I am not a programmer.