🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Freelancer looking for a job in my area.
Page options
timedwards42
Community Member

Freelancer looking for a job in my area.

Good morning everyone

I'm very new to UpWork and I had a question hopefully you all can answer for me. How are you supposed to know where the jobs are specifically located when you are trying to apply and submit a proposal? I live in Oregon and I have no idea if any of these jobs are located there, they just say the United States, Any help would be very much appreciated 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Youo can accept jobs from anywnere in the world.  Be advised, though, if you are in the UK for an extended visit, you should change your location on your profile to reflect that.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
mwiggenhorn
Community Member

Most of the jobs on Upwork are for remote work.  Very, very few require "in person" availability.

Mary, I live in the States, but was wondering if I could accept jobs for clients who live in the U.K. as well as jobs for clients in the States either while I am physically in the U.S. and while I am on a visit to the U.K.

Youo can accept jobs from anywnere in the world.  Be advised, though, if you are in the UK for an extended visit, you should change your location on your profile to reflect that.

Thank you for your response.  Would one month be regarded as an extended visit?

Christine B wrote:

Mary, I live in the States, but was wondering if I could accept jobs for clients who live in the U.K. as well as jobs for clients in the States either while I am physically in the U.S. and while I am on a visit to the U.K.

You can accept jobs from clients from all over the world. Doing the work while physically being in a different country is a different matter as you need a work permit to do so.

Sorry.  I seem to have created a lot of confusion, so should have been more specific ...