🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Freelancer unresponsive
Page options
elag
Community Member

Freelancer unresponsive

Hi, I'm relatively new to upwork and had someone respond to my job.
She said she needed all my files to give me the quote, before I hired her, which I stupidly handed over.  And now she is completely unresponsive. 
Which means I have no recourse and she can rip off my work.
How can I trust anybody on Upwork? She had 86% success rate and over 30k earned. Which indicated to me that I was dealing with a professional. 
What can I do about this? Can I put in a complaint?

6 REPLIES 6
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

It's entirely common for freelancers to ask for all files from a client before accepting a job, and in your freelancer's case, it sounds like she decided that she wasn't interested in the project (although I agree that it was unprofessional of her not to tell you so - how long have you been waiting for a response?). It's unlikely that she wanted to steal your ideas, but in future, you should ask freelancers to sign an NDA before you send any sensitive information. 

prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "She said she needed all my files to give me the quote, before I hired her, which I stupidly handed over."

It is not stupid.

I require all of applicable files before I provide a quote. Otherwise, how can I provide a quote?

re: "Which means I have no recourse and she can rip off my work."

I very much doubt she wants to rip off you work. She is here to earn money by working for clients. She has no interest in working for free. If she were to use your files for anything, then it means she is working for free. When she COULD be getting paid.

re: "What can I do about this?"

Nothing. Don't worry about this.

re: "Can I put in a complaint?"