🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Getting Started
Page options
0906b144
Community Member

Getting Started

Hello,

I'm new to Upwork as an interior designer and I'm finding that people are submitting a scope for their project, it is very limited in details of what they are requesting and it as a freelancer makes it very difficult to submit a proposal.  

I'm doing this as to supplement my solo business.  However, I'm finding most clients are asking $24-$45hourly rates. In the US as a freelancer you can count on 30% taken off in taxes.  

This is a good platform if you are starting off but not when you have an established business with overhead.  I pay my design assistant more than this.  Is there a way for a freelancer to ask more questions before submitting a proposal to the client? Also, can't Upwork allow a feature that your proposal is being seen and if there's a time limit to reject or accept a proposal? Please comment.

How do you overcome these obstacles?

1 REPLY 1
robin_hyman
Community Member

Christina W wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to Upwork as an interior designer and I'm finding that people are submitting a scope for their project, it is very limited in details of what they are requesting and it as a freelancer makes it very difficult to submit a proposal.  

I'm doing this as to supplement my solo business.  However, I'm finding most clients are asking $24-$45hourly rates. In the US as a freelancer you can count on 30% taken off in taxes.  

This is a good platform if you are starting off but not when you have an established business with overhead. 

Remember this is a global platform so there are freelancers from other countries where $20 an hour can feed their family for a few days. I disagree that this is a good platform for beginners; I have 15+ years experience and started here almost 2 years ago.  It helps to have an established career BEFORE you sign up.  A portfolio and know-how to deal with clients is beneficial to the world of freelancing.