🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Getting frustrated and discouraged
Page options
3611afd8
Community Member

Getting frustrated and discouraged

I have been on upwork for a little over a month now, and probably submitted 50+ proposals. Spent money to buy connects quite a few times, and have YET to even get so much as a peep from any of them. Not a word. I am a seasoned developer with 24 years experience and the least I would expect after so many proposals is at least SOME contact. Anything. Is this site a scam? I feel like I am just plugging money and time into this site for nothing. Anyone else had this issue?

10 REPLIES 10
jarankowsky
Community Member

A succesful upwork profile entails not only the inherent skill and expertise on an area, but also personal branding, marketing, copywriting, market research, keywords and other elements of any online service offering. Always adapt, research and update your proposition of value.

Also, if your services are offered by thousands of freenlancers too, then it will take 6 months or more to get a decent rating within upwork's algorithm.

yitwail
Community Member

Jason R wrote:

I have been on upwork for a little over a month now, and probably submitted 50+ proposals. Spent money to buy connects quite a few times, and have YET to even get so much as a peep from any of them. Not a word. I am a seasoned developer with 24 years experience and the least I would expect after so many proposals is at least SOME contact. Anything. Is this site a scam? I feel like I am just plugging money and time into this site for nothing. Anyone else had this issue?