🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Getting my first freelance gig
Page options
custermatt
Community Member

Getting my first freelance gig

I have more than 30 years corporate experience in PR, and I'm new to freelancing.  Just about every job I find attractive requires 90% completiong rate and Rising Talent.  How do I break through those barriers? Lower my price preference from $$$? Other strategies?

5 REPLIES 5
apanvalkar
Community Member

Hi Matt,

Lowering the price is one way to look at it.

I would suggest you have such an extensive experience so put it properly in your profile portfolio including your work experience (if you can).

I do not have much knowledge of PR but your profile is something which will get you your first job.

When you apply, you mention clearly that you may not meet the objective criteria but subjectively your experience is much higher then the set criteria.

Invite them to see your profile in your application itself.

First job is hard I know, I was lucky I started upwork in 2007/08 when competition was less but even after all these years I have seen profile makes the most difference.

Best wishes on landing the first one!

Cheers,

Aniruddh

pandoraharper
Community Member

@Matt C wrote:

I have more than 30 years corporate experience in PR, and I'm new to freelancing.  Just about every job I find attractive requires 90% completiong rate and Rising Talent.  How do I break through those barriers? Lower my price preference from $$$? Other strategies?

The 90% JSS rating and Rising Talent requirements are not what they seem. Having neither, you can still bid on those jobs. Rising Talent is a status that you will automatically receive after taking a few (10 is the current number I think) jobs. JSS is something that you will get once you have had more work and received lots of feedback.

As you start working on Upwork, you will also see other job requirements such as 100 or 1000 hours billed on Upwork. You can bid on those jobs too.