🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Getting work during interview process?
Page options
julia_shen
Community Member

Getting work during interview process?

Hello people of the Upwork community,

I'm new to this platform and am a bit confused about how the hiring process works. I received my first invitation from a client yesterday. I accepted the proposal and sent a message with more detailed information. Then the client just straightforwardly told me about the first job and attached all the documents! The client also told me that they have more of such work if I'm ready. I assume I'm still in the interview process, and I didn't sign any contract yet. At the same time the client also has a high rating, good hiring history and a verified payment method. Is this a normal situation, and how should I proceed from here? And if it matters, this is a translation job. Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
yitwail
Community Member

Julia, you accepted the client's invitation. Once you've done that, you're in the interview process. The client can send you materials, and you can look at them and ask questions, but do not do any work until the client accepts your proposal. Since the client has a history at Upwork, they would know this already, but if you're comfortable translating everything they provided, let them know you can begin working as soon as they offer you a contract by accepting your proposal. And if this is a fixed price job, then only start work if the milestone is funded for the amount you specified in your proposal. Good luck.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
versailles
Community Member

Stop.

Stop everything.

Go to the help section and learn how this site works. Read everything, watch every video they put there. Also, read the Getting Started on Upwork topic for the beginners on the top of this section.

Then, and only then you can seek gigs. Otherwise, it will end badly.

-----------