🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Getting work, verifying myself as an upwork m...
Page options
jadestonedesigns
Community Member

Getting work, verifying myself as an upwork member

I am an experienced graphic artist, specialing in print media (Tee shirts, cards, flyers, etc.) I joined and used all my free bids to bid on jobs. I followed all the hints, uploaded a ton of samples, included my resume, bid on less than 5 bids jobs, etc. I have received no approvals. I have a ton of clients (in the real world) that would write testimonials for me (The are constantly telling people about me in real life at bars and concerts when they are playing) but they do not like Linked In social media network. Upwork is unable to have people write testimonials and verify them through traditional ways as actual people. (Not that you should need that for a graphic designer. Sometimes I do wedding invitations and birthday parties; These people aren't businesses) I feel unmotivated and not convinced that this works to get more business. I am trying to expand my graphic design so I can get consistent work (Without working under someone else, as I've done ALL my life) I don't see how people can bring in their vetted customer testimonials (I've even uploaded my work letters of recommendation to Upwork!) from outside. Graphic Design for print is an actual product that you can touch with your fingers. Not an online product. How do I get more clients using this platform?! I am wondering if it is even a possibility. The "help" tools sent to me are way too generic for me to apply to Graphic Design for print. I have 20 years experience as a graphic designer. It shouldn't be this hard to pick up a job doing a business card or logo design. Especially when I do not charge high prices for my experience as I just want extra work. 

1 REPLY 1
MichaelJ
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Laura,