🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Ghosted by client
Page options
jazcapri
Community Member

Ghosted by client

Hello, 

I'm new to Upwork and I recently got my first job. 
It was for 6 character designs (each being their own payment milestone) and I delivered the first one and got paid...he then said he'd send the next bit that night and I haven't heard from him since (I did reach out yesterday just in case) and I'm starting to think he might've ghosted me. 

Is there anything I need to do with the active contract? Is there a timeline for when I should close it? (assuming that's possible) 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
pudingstudio
Community Member

Jasmine L wrote:

Hello, 

It was for 6 character designs (each being their own payment milestone) and I delivered the first one and got paid...he then said he'd send the next bit that night and I haven't heard from him since (I did reach out yesterday just in case) and I'm starting to think he might've ghosted me. 

Is there anything I need to do with the active contract? Is there a timeline for when I should close it? (assuming that's possible) 

You've done all you can. You've sent a polite message to remind them that you can't continue until they fund next milestone. That's all you can do for now.

Client will probably come back and sort out everything. It does happen that clients become a bit unresponsive.
Yes, it is possible that they won't respond ever. Oh, nothing you can do about that. Move on to the next one.

Yes, you can close the contract. I wouldn't, though. I'd wait a bit longer.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
pudingstudio
Community Member

Jasmine L wrote:

Hello, 

You've done all you can. You've sent a polite message to remind them that you can't continue until they fund next milestone. That's all you can do for now.

Client will probably come back and sort out everything. It does happen that clients become a bit unresponsive.