🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Guidance and Help needed - New to UpWork ...
Page options
eicherkathrin
Community Member

Guidance and Help needed - New to UpWork - How does this work?

Hi!

I am brand new to UpWork and I submitted a couple of propsals today and got my first response. The client messaged me through Upwork and asked me to call her, which I did. We chatted and she asked to do a video conference with her tomorrow, which she sent me an invitation to outside of Upwork. I assume this is ok?

What is next? She mentioned she is new to UpWork as well. Let's say we decide tomorrow that we are a good match. What do I need to do? What does she need to do?

I really need some guidance and help!

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
AndreaG

Hi Kathrin,

Welcome to Upwork! For help getting started, check our Freelancer Guide

It is against Upwork TOS to communicate outside the platform before a contract is in place. We find that when users communicate outside of Upwork there is an increased risk of fraud, scam, and other harmful behaviors. When communications (and work) stay on our platform we can better track, verify, and help address any issues that emerge, and as a result the potential for these behaviors to cause harm decreases dramatically. For example, the vast majority of scammers that successfully take advantage of talent do so by going off the platform. To learn more about staying safe on Upwork, click here.

Thanks!

~Andrea
Upwork

Thank you so much Andrea! I messaged her and asked if we can switch to the UpWork platform tomorrow for our call.