cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Have not made red cent in 3 weeks.

Highlighted
Clarence L Member Since: Dec 20, 2016
1 of 6

why would anyone PAY for a service where the only job offers I have gotten have been captcha scams?

Highlighted
2 of 6

On top of that with the super low bids. Even if i did get a job it would be **Edited for Community Guidelines**

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 6

re: "why would anyone PAY for a service"

Who told you to pay?

I don't pay. As a freelancer, I get all Upwork services for fee.

The only time I pay anything is when I actually earn money. And even then, Upwork doesn't make me pay anything up front. They take a percentage fee out of the money I earn by working for clients.

Other than that, it's a totally free service for me.

Highlighted
4 of 6

I am referencing the fact that they give you limited connects and wont let you see bids unless you pay.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
5 of 6

Clarence:

You don't need to see other bids. Bid what you bid.

You don't need extra connects.

I use one connect per month, on average. Some months I use zero. Some months I use two.

When you're starting out, you'll use more, but you definitely don't need to use more than 60 per month.

You need to focus on:

- quality job searching

- high quality proposal writing

- studying in-demand skills and areas of expertise which are underserved

- learning those in-demand skills and areas of expertise so you can offer them as a freelancer, rather than offering overly abundant skills

The 60 connects per month limit helps you to do this. If you run out of connects, it means it is time to stop wasting time bidding on the low-level jobs you're bidding on, and it's time to study and learn better skills.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Kathryn B Member Since: Jul 22, 2015
6 of 6

True story: