🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Having trouble landing first job.
Page options
5c10f7c5
Community Member

Having trouble landing first job.

Hello, I've sent out three proposals for jobs I feel I am qualified for and have yet to land an interview.
I'm an experienced writer but not sure how to make my profile stand out here. I see ads for low paying rates to help land your first job, is this needed to be successful here. I want to get a job that's worth my time and pays well.
Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
aditipie
Community Member

Mayra, welcome to Upwork forum. I agree that you need to get a job worth your time. 1) Completing the profile serves as a good start, in particular having a couple items in your portfolio. Is there anything from past that you could add in your portfolio? 2) Next, consider attending Upwork webinars or listening to their recordings. It helped me a lot. 3) Lastly, patience pays. The first job may take months but once you get the first one, next one comes in a week and by the end of the year you might get a job invite each day. So hang in tight. You are in the right place at right time.  

martina_plaschka
Community Member

Mayra S wrote:

Hello, I've sent out three proposals for jobs I feel I am qualified for and have yet to land an interview.
I'm an experienced writer but not sure how to make my profile stand out here. I see ads for low paying rates to help land your first job, is this needed to be successful here. I want to get a job that's worth my time and pays well.

Thanks!