🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Help Negotiating with Clients
Page options
brendan_rhyne
Community Member

Help Negotiating with Clients

Hi

I am new to Upwork and am continuing to learn about the platform and I had a question about engaging with potential clients. I submitted a proposal to a client and got a response. Their job posting was fairly vague, stating they needed some scripts developed for youtube videos and I recieved some sample scripts from the potential client.

As we were messaging, her demands seemed unreasonable. She needed 30 scripts developed in less than 2 days. Then it was 15 by the end of the day (stated in late afternoon), then it was how many and how fast. I responded that I could get 10 by the end of the next day, or all 30 if I could have the weekend. I got asked how many hours. I said 10-12, which since I had to develop the theme, do the research and write the script I thought was reasonable (they are short videos). She then said she couldn't do the rate from my proposal (which I used the rate tip to calculate), nor the rate on my profile (which was $4.00 lower) and offered me a rate at roughly half of what my proposal had been saying that others have worked for even less than that.

My question is two-fold. One, are there any tips for uncovering a scam before it hits this point. And two, what is Upwork's recommendation for negotiating rates? The rates she was proposing seemed unreasonably low and approached minimum wage in my opinion, and she had access to my profile and my submitted proposal before she started engaging me.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks so much for all you guys do!

8 REPLIES 8
millermelanie
Community Member