🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Help please. I'm not able to get any wor...
Page options
lightingbird
Community Member

Help please. I'm not able to get any work.

I can't seem to get any work. I've tried changing my profile, creating a custom profile, took some advice from a pat discussion, and watcwd the last Upwork seminar on how to increase your chances of success.

Still nothing.

I'm a project manager/IT leader by trade, seeking freelance work in a similar arena. I've applied for project work, virtual assistance, and a few customer service roles.

I'm seeking any guidance on how to break past this wall and get some work.

Also, why isn't the PMP able to be used on your profile? It's not listed.
10 REPLIES 10
hoyle_editing
Community Member

When you say you cant get any work, how many jobs are you actually applying for? 

I sometimes get 1 job out or 3 or 4 that i apply for, other times (usually when i have no work and feel a little more desperate) i could apply for anywhere from 20-50 jobs before getting anything!

I dont know what the going rate is for your sector, but have you tried comparing your hourly rate with others that have similary little upwork experiance/history (but are actually getting a few jobs)?

I've never been able to find work on Upwork. Also, I have not compared my rate to others in my field. However, my rate was much lower at one point till someone recommended I increase it. Still no work.

I realise you have never been able to find work, but im trying to guage how many jobs you have actually tried for? are you applying for a lot of jobs? 1 or 2 a week? 10 a week? 20 a week? 30? 40?

As for your rate, i dont know who told you to put it up, but it may be worth seeing what others charge, bearing in mind you have no history at all on the platform you might need to get your pricing spot on first. If you are charging the same or more than people with loads of reviews then you are going to have a harder time finding work.