🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: How can I get my first client?
Page options
cathchan429
Community Member

How can I get my first client?

Hi,

I am new to being a freelance in Upwork. I have sent 10 proposals but still not any feedback. How you guy get your first job here? Or how do you choose a freelancer to work for you?

I just want to get my first experience first no matter what salary it is. Any suggestion for applying for a job? What kind of job would be accepted easier? 

Regards,
Cathryn

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
davidd1008
Community Member

Welcome to Upwork! 

As others have said- try not to get discouraged. You're new and sometimes it takes time. You're also a graphic designer and there are a LOT of those on here so you've got some competition. 

A few ideas:

A LOT of clients never even look at your propsals. They'll look over a few, find someone that stands out, and ignore the rest. Even if they DO read yours, do not expect to hear back from all of them. It would be nice if clients reached out to everyone and said "hey, we're going in a different direction but thanks for applying" but it's just not going to happen so don't expect it.

You SHOULD expect that you'll be turned down more often then you're accepted. That's just the way it is. It's a numbers game.

What is it you're best at? Logo design? Business cards? You've got a lot of things listed in your profile and that's good. Focus on those and look for those jobs. Don't just apply for anyone looking for graphic design. Do a few of those jobs to get familiar and then you can branch out to other areas. But start small and focused.

Write a good cover letter when you apply. This may take some time before you find one that works best for you. Keep them short and to the point. Avoid takling about a lot of personal things. Focus on why you want this job, what you can do, and why they should choose you.