cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I find out if the client is legitimate?

Frank M Member Since: Oct 9, 2017
1 of 5

How can I tell if the client is legitimate?  He's a brand-new client to Upwork, and I'm a brand-new freelancer.

I'm wondering if the check I'll receive to purchase accounting software (from a discounted vendor the client uses) that I've been requested to deposit into my bank account amd hold for 24 hours is a scam.  Red flag.

He represented his age as different than it actually is.  Red flag.

I provided my name, physical and e-mail address, and phone number during the interview, which was held on Google Hangouts.

Where does one sign a contract?  Is it on the Upwork website, or is it sent directly from the client?

How can I talk to someone at Upwork.com to verify the client?  Was I scammed?  Is there a phone number or e-mail to reach the Customer Support team members?

Please advise me if you can.  Thanks.

Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
2 of 5

@Frank M wrote:

How can I tell if the client is legitimate?  He's a brand-new client to Upwork, and I'm a brand-new freelancer.

I'm wondering if the check I'll receive to purchase accounting software (from a discounted vendor the client uses) that I've been requested to deposit into my bank account amd hold for 24 hours is a scam.  Red flag.

He represented his age as different than it actually is.  Red flag.

I provided my name, physical and e-mail address, and phone number during the interview, which was held on Google Hangouts.

Where does one sign a contract?  Is it on the Upwork website, or is it sent directly from the client?

How can I talk to someone at Upwork.com to verify the client?  Was I scammed?  Is there a phone number or e-mail to reach the Customer Support team members?

Please advise me if you can.  Thanks.

It's a SCAM. Any offer of payment outside Upwork is a scam, and any check you receive will bounce when you deposit it.