cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I know if someone is trustworthy if they have 0 job experience here?

Highlighted
Michael K Member Since: May 27, 2017
1 of 9

Hi all,

I'm not a freelancer, I'm hiring for a specific FB integration job with a forum.  It's my first time here...I am getting a few really good resumes from people, but the problem is that they have 0 work experience here. How do I know they aren't just scamming me?

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 9

The only way to know for certain to hire a freelancer and see how she does.

Closely monitor the work of all new freelancers. Continue working only with the ones who provide you with the best work and best value.

If you want to have a better chance of hiring a trustworthy, quality freelancer, then look carefully at the a candidate's work history and try to hire freelancers with more experience, positive reviews, and higher rates.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 9

For the record, as a client I have hired over 70 freelancers. I DO hire quite a few freelancers who have zero work history.

Some of them are great! Some of them aren't.

But I start them with:

- a very limited number of hours per week

- a small fixed-price project

- limited or zero access to my core systems

...at least until I see what they do for me and gain my trust.

Highlighted
Michael K Member Since: May 27, 2017
4 of 9

Thank you for the information, I sincerely appreciate the help and advice. It's a bit nerve-wracking honestly.  

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
5 of 9

If you are on a budget and a scam would put you out of business or whatever, you need to stick with people with a history. Taking chances is not for people that would be broke if someone runs off with their money.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer D Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
6 of 9

@Jennifer M wrote: