🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » How do multiple milestones work?
Page options
jess98
Community Member

How do multiple milestones work?

Hi - I'm new to Upwork and was looking for some clarification on milestones.  I have a client that I completed a job for - I submitted this for review / payment.  She said that she liked the work and wanted to know if I would work on another project for her.  When I said yes - she sent me another milestone under this contract.  When I completed the second project and went to submit it - the second milestone is listed as "upcoming" and the first one is still showing as active.  I'm guessing that she hadn't approved the first one yet.  

Is there any way for me to submit the write-up for the second milestone, even though it says upcoming?  I don't see an option to do this.  

General question for the community - do you ask a client to close out the first milestone before starting the second one?  

Thanks!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member

Milestones can represent multiple stages of a single large and/or complex project, or they can represent a series of separate projects for the same client. How you use them is completely up to you and your clients.

The most important thing about milestones, regardless of how you're using them, is this: NEVER produce work against a milestone until it's funded in escrow. If a client wants to add a milestone to a contract, she needs to approve the previous milestone AND fully fund the one she is adding. If you complete work against an unfunded milestone, do NOT submit the work until the milestone is funded, otherwise you have no guarantee of being paid. You will have wasted your time, but at least you retain ownership of what you produced until it's paid for.