Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you spot a scam? 2 offers from different companies emails same

Highlighted
Joanne M Member Since: Jan 14, 2017
1 of 16

Hi everyone,

I am new to upwork and am wondering if anyone can help.... I have been offered work by 2 companies ....however the emails are word for word, which is making me wonder if something is not quite right.......

Opinions please?
thanks 

Highlighted
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
2 of 16

@Joanne M wrote:

Hi everyone,

I am new to upwork andam wondering if anyone can help.... I have been offered work by 2 companies ....however the emails are word for word, which is making me wonder if something is not quite right....... here is the message:

. . .

Opinions please?

thanks 

It looks like a genuine offer to me. By the way most of your post will be deleted, because it is against the forum rules to quote directly from a job post.

If you are worried about fake jobs you must take the time to read more about how Upwork operates and read this post which gives you some of the essentials: https://community.upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/Getting-Started-on-Upwork/m-p/264214#U264214. Particularly "Tips on how to avoid questionable jobs".

As to your offer, make absolutely certain that you have a formal contract in place and always use the tracker if you work on an hourly basis, which should keep you safe.

Edited to add: It is possible that the client did not know he/she should not have posted the same job twice. However, my antennae are waving on this one, and I think you should ask customer support to check it out for you.

Highlighted
3 of 16

thank you.. I was not aware of that.. sorry..... I was concerned as both offers are direct word for word.... I will delete the message within mine.

Thanks

Highlighted
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
4 of 16

@Joanne M wrote: