🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » How long to wait for the hire?
Page options
ms_coffey
Community Member

How long to wait for the hire?

I’m new to Upwork so I’m looking for some realistic perspective to see if this behavior is normal...

I submitted a proposal on the 1st, I got a response right away. This potential client has never hired anyone but they only have ever submitted for 2 jobs, this one and another.

He responded very quickly and has been communicative but I have asked him to officially hire me 3 or 4 times now and it starting to feel like he is just kicking tires and goal posting me.

I asked him when will I be hired, his response was “when I know you’re dedicated.” Ok.. I said well I know I am, what can I do to show I am? He says fine draw me a sketch of a girl with a sword. So I do this and I do it more than a simple sketch to show, ok I’m willing to do the work and willing to be responsive and take direction.

All he responded was that it was very good.

Still no idea on if he is actually going to officially hire me. It’s now the 9th.

So for almost 2 weeks I have back and forth with this guy trying to close a deal that’s only $300 for a 24 page comic book.

Is this typical? Intuitively I feel if a client is serious the client would hire somewhat quickly. Maybe I’m wrong. Is this typical?

Additionally, what are some red flags that someone is just kicking tires and not going to actually hire you VS what’s some green flags that say the person is genuinely interested.
ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Kendra C wrote:
I asked him when will I be hired, his response was “when I know you’re dedicated.” Ok.. I said well I know I am, what can I do to show I am? He says fine draw me a sketch of a girl with a sword. So I do this and I do it more than a simple sketch to show, ok I’m willing to do the work and willing to be responsive and take direction..

It's a timewaster who is breaking the terms of service by asking you for free work.