cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How much patience should I have? (1st job).

Highlighted
Alfredo M Member Since: Feb 3, 2017
1 of 9

I am a translator. I have been working as a translator both in companies and freelancing. I have even led a project for a huge company who needed international certificates (and they've got them). 

I have joined upwork because there are amazing opportunities each day, also, the interface is very beautiful and friendly. I don't have even a week here, but still it's starting to get frustrating. My profile is 100% completed, I uploaded some samples to my portfolio (since most of my work is highly confidential), I took the test and ended in the top 10%, I added my experience, I wrote a very honest overview. I have been sending proposals to jobs adequated for me, and every single proposal has been personal and detailed. I even received a Rising Talent badge. I know that I am not getting hired because I don't have feedbacks, but what can I do with that?

I don't know what else can I do and I am starting to think this is just a waste of time, how many patience should I have before leaving it for good? How much did you spend sending proposals before getting hired?

Highlighted
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
2 of 9

It takes time. I have more than 20 years in my field and a unique combination of skills/experience for what I do, and I would say that it was somewhere between 3 and 6 weeks before I got my first job and at least a couple of months before the work got steady.

There is a lot of competition in your category and some of your competitors have years of Upwork experience/feedback, so it may take a little time to break in. Whatever you do, do not attempt to do that by lowering your rates. Just keep submitting, only for the projects really best suited to you and not any one that you would be able to successfully complete, and keep working other options at the same time.

Highlighted