🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » How safe is it to share accounting informatio...
Page options
74b68927
Community Member

How safe is it to share accounting information

Hello, can anyone tell me how safe it is to share accounting info with freelancers?  I am seeking a bookkeeper for my consulting business and just looking to see if there are any safety measures in place.   I will check reviews to ensure good ratings and numerous clients, but not sure if there is a significant risk.

Thanks very much

DT

8 REPLIES 8
AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi David, 

I have no experience with bookkeeping softwares, so I'm not sure how accounting information is managed when hiring a freelancer to manage your finances for you. 

I would assume that there are permissions involved on accounting/bookkeeping softwares when adding another user or a team member. Generally, I would recommend never to share passwords and other sensitive information with other users, (online banking information passwords, emails, and other personal accounts). It would also be best if you can hire a freelancer that has an established work history on Upwork. 

I don't know if that helped (hopefully it did). If you need help shortlisting freelancers for your project, you can let us know and we'll be happy to connect you with our Talent Solutions Team. 

~ Avery
Upwork
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "just looking to see if there are any safety measures in place"

I'm not sure exactly what you mean by "safety measures." Upwork can not "guarantee" that a freelancer you hire will be honest and that your data will be safe, any more than any other platform or hiring agency can offer such a guarantee.

The biggest factor in your favor is that the overwhelming majority of Upwork freelancers are honest, ethical freelancers who are only here on the site to earn money by doing good work for clients.