🐈 Community

How to find jobs without 90% job score or rising talent?

How do I search for jobs/projects that do not have preferred qualifications?

Right now, as a new freelancer, I do not meet the requirements of Job Score 90%+ or Rising Talent. This excludes me from applying from many jobs on UpWork.

The current search filters do not have the option to exclude jobs with job score / rising talent requirements.

How to find jobs without 90% job score or rising talent?

I'd like to find a faster way, rather than 1 by 1 or manually.

7 REPLIES 7
mwiggenhorn

JSS of 90 or above is a suggestion, not a requirement.  You are free to apply, emphasizing your experience and expertise in your field.  None of us had a JSS when we started - we just jumped in and sent the best proposals we could.

I think OP made a valid point, even if 90% JS is merely a "Preferred Qualification". It may behoove Upwork to provide a Job Success Score filter when searching jobs, for the benefit of freelancers with less than 90% JS, although I suspect most new jobs specify 90% anyway.

The kudo was for using the work "behoove". 🙂

I agree, I just started on UpWork, and I feel like its impossible to get a job because I don't have the job score or the number of hours they require. I feel applied to at least 8 jobs with a score, but I feel they don't even look at me bc of it. any more suggestions?

Don't get discouraged, Keren. I used to be in your position, but I still applied to job offers that stated a number of hours higher than the one I had.

I would add to my cover letter that if I hadn't worked the required number of hours on Upwork, I had elsewhere. And sometimes it worked.

alirezakj