🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » How to get a job If you are a newbie here and...
Page options
xena_a
Community Member

How to get a job If you are a newbie here and don't have any feedbacks and jobs in history?

Sadly, there's a huge newbie discrimination (sounds dramatic but I don't know how else to call it + I'm pretty upset right now).

It just doesn't matter how much knowledge you have concerning your field of work,

If you don't have any feedbacks, completed jobs in history, you won't be needed anywhere and you can't even get the most simple and low bidded job to get at least something in your job history... even If you have a portfolio with a couple of impressive things which prove that you know what you are doing.

Employers here want an impossibly experienced freelancer to realise their often tiny simple projects but what should newbies do? Like me. 

How to even start If everybody dissmisses you because of your "newbieness" on the website?

Maybe you could tell me how you started here?

How did you get your first job and some tips for newbies?

Thank you.

5 REPLIES 5
cylver1z
Community Member

Hello Xena,

I'm sorry to hear that. Please click this link to help you enhance your profile.  You may add samples of your previous works in your portfolio and take Upwork skill tests to showcase your skills and abilities. You may also click this link to help you submit a winning proposal.

Untitled

Xena,

Nobody (or nearly nobody) finds it easy to get their first jobs on Upwork.

Follow advice, get the best possible profile, pass tests, only send offers to jobs that correspond to your skills, and you'll start getting jobs. 

It took me about two months to get a terrible first job (from a freelancer farming some transcription work) but now I'm doing much better.

Good luck!

Your profile is set to private but be sure that both your profile and your proposals emphasize your experience and expertise off the platform.