🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » How to get enough job
Page options
de5e5c2c
Community Member

How to get enough job

Dear community, I am new to Upwork. I noticed that there are just a few jobs and so many bidders. This site isn't as busy as I imagined.

I got into a first contract and was asked to use a tracker. There were a few tasks, I tried to arrange quiet time and work on them but they only last 1 - 2 hours per day at most and of course this won't be enough to make a living (me and famlity depends on this)

I guess many of you would try to get as many projects at the same time as you can to fill up 8h per day. But with current number of jobs on the site, I can see that it is impossible, especially for new comer. And also, suppose that we can work 4 projects at a time, the overhead and stress from 4 different owners would cost you much more than a regular full time job.

Is there a way to get out of this situation? or this site is dying and it is inevitable?

5 REPLIES 5
booksist
Community Member

Hi Justin,

Your profile is all about your hobbies. It doesn't make you look professional at all.

Also, you mentioned a team of 30 people. -- You are certainly aware that you are the only person who can use your account. It is individual. If you have a team, you need to create an agency, and each of the team members would need to have their individual profiles approved.

re: "or this site is dying and it is inevitable?"

This site is not dying. I have to keep my account blocked from clients seeing it nearly all the time. Otherwise I am flooded with invitations to work. I could be working 24 hours a day every day if that were physically possible.

You have not been here long. It takes time to get established. And you have not been serious about setting up your profile page. You can not expect instant success, especially when neglecting your profile problems.

tasamil
Community Member

Justin, what you essentially asked was is this site worth investing your time.