🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: How to get hired when I am a beginning tr...
Page options
fabianatetamenti
Community Member

How to get hired when I am a beginning translator?

Hi,

I am having a difficult time getting hired. I am a beginning translator, I have some experience but since I haven't gotten any jobs here my success rate is zero and that way I am trapped in a vicious circle. Can you give me any advice, take a look at my profile and tell me how to improve, how to become visible to contractors?  

6 REPLIES 6
purplepony
Community Member

Fabiana, I'm not a Translator; perhaps one will come along.  However, I noticed your test results on your Profile. You're in the top 10% regarding English to Spanish but "Below Average" regarding Spanish to English.  As a result, you should not offer Spanish to English translation services.

Thanks for your input, Pat! I don't think such a test says anything about my ability as a translator. The score is above 4 out of 5, and the fact that others have scored higher doesn't mean that I am bad a translator.  Translators rely heavily on dictionaries and research, and I would say that the ability to translate a text well stylistically is more important, which the tests here on UpWork cannot really examine. I will definitely try to do better next time though!

Fabiana, I'm sincerely not attempting to irritate you or hurt your feelings.  The "bottom line" is that any "Below Average" test results don't look good to potential Clients.  The reasoning/explanation as to why you achieved those results is frankly immaterial. 

Fabiana T wrote: