Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get hired without a freelance portfolio

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Lisa M Member Since: Apr 11, 2017
1 of 16

I am very frustrated. I have been a member since Dec., have a completed profile, have taken multiple tests on which I've scored very high, have received Rising Talent designation and have submitted upwards of 50 proposals for jobs for which I know I am qualified, but have yet to receive a valid job offer. I am new to freelancing, so don't have a portfolio, and can only assume that this is a factor, but how can I remedy that? It's the proverbial vicious cycle! I've submitted for lower paying flat-rate projects, have offered flat rates lower than my hourly rate, offered to negotiate my fee and even test-lowered my rate temporarily, but still no jobs.

Second, isn't there a mechanism for jobs to be automatically removed from listings as soon as someone is hired? I've wasted connects applying to posted jobs, only to discover hours later that someone had been hired before I submitted, but there was no notification in posting.

I am trying to remain hopeful and to be persistent about looking for appropriate jobs and submitting proposals daily, but it is becoming increasingly discouraging and I'm ready to give up.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 16

Why don't you have a portfolio?

Nothing is stopping you from creating a number of portfolio pieces yourself. The portfolio is not (just) there to showcase things you di for others, it is there to showcase your SKILLS, so use those skills, put them to good news, and create portfolio pieces that back up what your overview states.

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
3 of 16