🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: How to get work on upwork with no experie...
Page options
mtayyab88
Community Member

How to get work on upwork with no experience?

Hi,

Can anyone plz guide me how to get work.I am new to this platform and not getting any work despite having ample knowledge of jobs. 
Any changes to my profile which you recommend ?

10 REPLIES 10
donchyme
Community Member

Your profile is very important but not as important as your message to the potential client. I don't know your area of specialty but here's what I did when I just started:

1. I focused on showing the client that I could deliver top quality results. This is easier if you already have a solid portfolio. If you do not have a portfolio yet, you could give the client a sample solution to the task s/he needs done.

2. I offered to do test tasks and I added a no-payment clause. I usually said "if my work does not meet your standard, you do not have topay me." Don't forget that this is prior to being awarded the job so you are doing this to get the job. Note also that not all clients are trust-worthy. Some will tell you the work was not good enough but depending on what the job was, you may not have anyway of knowing if they went ahead to use it without paying you. It's a sacrifice you may have to make.

3. I started by working for far less than my regular fees. I jumped in and offered to do it for far less, explaining to the client that the reason I was doing that was because I needed some references and not necessarily because that was my rate. I eventually got my first job which was very tasking and paid very little. In fact he did not release the funds after I was done with the job. I had to wait until the wait period elapsed and Upwork (then Elance) released the funds to me.