cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: How to present a proper quote

Doruk Z Member Since: Feb 24, 2017
1 of 7

Hello everyone,

I am a professional translator and very new to this website. I am working in a good company but I want to do more work, so I found Upwork in the hopes of extending my job capacity. However I made around 5-6 quotes to some job postings, all of which were declined. What confused me is that there usually is no "word count" or anything that the translators can determine the quote with. So I wrote a made up amount and mentioned in the description that I determined the price on word count and we could discuss it further. But they declined right away. 

So what am I doing wrong? Please enlighten me. 

Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
2 of 7

@Doruk Z wrote:

Hello everyone,

I am a professional translator and very new to this website. I am working in a good company but I want to do more work, so I found Upwork in the hopes of extending my job capacity. However I made around 5-6 quotes to some job postings, all of which were declined. What confused me is that there usually is no "word count" or anything that the translators can determine the quote with. So I wrote a made up amount and mentioned in the description that I determined the price on word count and we could discuss it further. But they declined right away. 

So what am I doing wrong? Please enlighten me. 

Your hourly rate is too low. your profile is almost empty and lacks portfolio. You don't even state your language pair. Go to the help section and read all the material that Upwork is sharing. Will help.

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless
3 of 7

Thanks for your quick answer! But what should I present in my portfolio as I have no experience on this website yet? I haven't done any jobs. 

I started reading the help section, I hope I can get useful information from there.