cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am new to Upwork. I can't find work because they require Upwork minimum hours

Highlighted
Jacqueline J Member Since: Aug 16, 2016
1 of 16

Any tips on how I get my first job when the majority of postings require 500 hours experience with Upwork?  I am dissapointed because the first job offer was a SCAM supposedly from: **Edited for Community Guidelines** and they asked me to do an interview on Google Hangout, which I reported as inappropriate. Smiley Sad

Thanks,

Jackie

Highlighted
Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
BEST ANSWER
2 of 16

They WANT 500 hours.  They can still hire you even if you don't fit.  If your experience is vast, go ahead and apply.  Explain that you are new to Upwork but not new to your profession.  It worked for me.  (Besides, if you do fixed price contracts, they don't even show as hours worked)

View solution in original post

Highlighted
3 of 16

Thanks! I will give it a try!

Highlighted
Azhar I Member Since: Oct 4, 2018
4 of 16

I am new on upwork, I sent proposals on 10 bids but so far I didn't get any response from any client. Kindly guide me what should I do?

Highlighted
Community Guru
Christy A Member Since: Dec 30, 2015
5 of 16

You can still apply, even if you don't meet the 500 hour requirement.  Make sure you write a killer proposal and be patient.  It can take a bit of time to get your first job.

Highlighted
Community Leader
Lindsey G Member Since: Jul 28, 2015
6 of 16

Just out of curiosity, why do you feel like an interview is inappropriate? Regarding your line of work in management/administration?

Highlighted
7 of 16