🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » I feel like leaving UpWork
Page options
sdeepj
Community Member

I feel like leaving UpWork

Freelancing is a catch-22, to get work on this platform, you have to have previous work experience through the platform. However you can't get experience if nobody is giving you work, because you have no experience. I'm new to the platform, but that doesn't mean I'm inexperience. I have two master's degrees, I've applied my GIS and writing skills in both the professional and academic worlds for over a decade. Unfortunatley, too many professionals are ignorant about academia, not realizing academics are better suited for their job than they are. I send out countless bids, to only have scammers and flakes responding. I've gone on numerous blogs on how to put together a winning profile and bid, still to no avial. Lately, I've gotten anxiety attacks when submitting a bid, making sure I get every detail right, even putting together a quick sketch of what I can provide, virtually rewriting my resume, and for what? To be ignored. 

There's something I'm missing, and I don't know what it is. 

Thanks for reading my rant:)

3 REPLIES 3
renata101
Community Member

Sandeep J wrote: