🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » ICQ chat platform?
Page options
2706e132
Community Member

ICQ chat platform?

Hello . I'm new to Upwork and I've had a response to a proposal that asks me to go through an interview process by setting up an "ICQ" account -- an instant messaging platform. This sounds dodgy to me. Is it normal to have to interview for things on an external chat platform?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ArjayM

Ho John,

Sophie's response is correct. I have checked your account and I can't seem to find the response from the client to your submitted proposal. Could you please click on my name above this post and send me a private message with more information about the job post you're referring to so that we can have it further reviewed and take action accordingly?

You may want to check this help article and this thread for more information on how to stay safe on Upwork. We also encourage you to let us know if a TOS violation has happened by using the Flag as Inappropriate option throughout the platform. You can learn more about user reporting here.

~ Arjay
Upwork

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
sofia2008
Community Member

Communicating outside Upwork before a contract is in place is a violation of Upwork's Terms of Service (ToS) all users agree to when creating an account. You can find the Terms of Service at the bottom of this page.

ArjayM

Ho John,

Sophie's response is correct. I have checked your account and I can't seem to find the response from the client to your submitted proposal. Could you please click on my name above this post and send me a private message with more information about the job post you're referring to so that we can have it further reviewed and take action accordingly?