🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: If a job is not closed by the due date, w...
Page options
15ba274d
Community Member

If a job is not closed by the due date, will it hurt your JSS?

Hello everyone! Thanks for taking the time to read this!

I am new to Upwork and I am trying to figure out if a job is not closed by the due date (if the freelancer completed it), will it count against the freelancer's JSS?

I (freelancer role) completed a job before the due date and I do not want to close it just yet because I think the client should be the one to close it (maybe they are still reviewing the work I did or something. In any case, I will probably ask them if it is OK to close it if they do not do so by the deadline). But I am just wondering, for the future, if something like this happens again with other clients, would it affect the freelancer's JSS?

Thanks again for your time and consideration!

Best wishes, 

Mariel 

9 REPLIES 9
AndreaG

Hi Mariel,

Keeping a contract open past the due date will not affect your JSS on its own. The due date is there for your and your client's reference and doesn't affect any metrics. That said, it's important that you and your client discuss the expectations for the contracts, whether any further work needs to be done on it or if it could be closed. In general, an active long-term relationship with your client can actually improve your JSS. On the other hand, if the contract becomes idle it is generally best that you ask the client to close it and leave feedback as part of the process.

~Andrea
Upwork
15ba274d
Community Member

Thanks so much for your response!!

Hi Andrea,