🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Impossible to find work - Nothing but SCAMS
Page options
decca4eb
Community Member

Impossible to find work - Nothing but SCAMS

I'm starting to think I wasted my time getting on this site. I have a BA degree in Literature Writing and would like an editor or proofreading position. Still, everyone here is looking for people with insane experience despite offering paltry pay. I have also tried applying to similar jobs off this site, and I am losing hope because I can't get a response from anyone. I don't think it's possible unless you are lucky or know the right people. I have applied to many of these positions, and nothing works.

I can't show "examples" because I am new to it and want to get into freelancing, but I can't because no one gives me the time of day. 

To make matters worse, all the jobs I applied for on this site have been SCAMS. I got all my Connects refunded each time. 

I noticed there's supposed to be "coaching" here, but none of them are open. What even is the point? This site is so unhelpful to brand new people with no prior freelancing experience. 

Does ANYONE know a place where to get started and get legitment work? 

20 REPLIES 20
luce-neidert
Community Member

Tara, at the moment Upwork has a problem, a huge quantity of scam jobs are being posted. This is not always the case, otherwise no one would be using Upwork. The easiest way not to be bothered by these is the following:

. select only jobs where you see green stars at the bottom of the offer. It means that this client has already hired and paid at least one freelancer.

. if you have the time, please flag the jobs that seem to be a scam, this helps Upwork get rid of them.

. you can minimize the offers you don't want to see by clicking on the thumbs down to the right top of the offer, and then on any explanation you  want. This will minimize the size of the job offer so that it won't be as visible.