🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Interview Protocol Help!
Page options
torit89
Community Member

Interview Protocol Help!

I keep getting interview requests to be conducted on Google Hangouts. Is this normal? I cannot find anything on Upwork Help Center for proper protocol.

I thought it was normal on the first one, so I did it. Then I got an email from Upwork saying that the job was removed because it violated the User End Agreement. I researched the company a little more, and I found that the company was part of a scam. I immediately cut ties with the company and moved on. I am new to Upwork, so I'm still learning the ins and outs of this freelancing thing!

6 REPLIES 6
rverang
Community Member

@Tori T wrote:

I keep getting interview requests to be conducted on Google Hangouts. Is this normal? I cannot find anything on Upwork Help Center for proper protocol.

I thought it was normal on the first one, so I did it. Then I got an email from Upwork saying that the job was removed because it violated the User End Agreement. I researched the company a little more, and I found that the company was part of a scam. I immediately cut ties with the company and moved on. I am new to Upwork, so I'm still learning the ins and outs of this freelancing thing!

From what I've been reading, 99% of jobs requiring Google Hangout interviews are scams. They usually target freelancers who are new on this platform.

michael_skaggs
Community Member

Google Hangouts "interview" = SCAM

There's plenty of other scam indicators, but I'll wait for Petra to chime in with her handy little chart. It explains things much more clearly than I could.

kat303
Community Member

@Tori T wrote: