🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Interviewed and client offered to draw up...
Page options
lwlamona
Community Member

Interviewed and client offered to draw up a contract and then no more messages the following week.

I am new to Upwork and have submitted several proposals.  One proposal was reviewed and interview followed.  Based on the interview, the client was going to send information following our chat and draw up a contract. I received another message basically saying they were completing a deadline for another project and would send information over the next few days.  So far nothing.

I sent a message in the middle of last week just saying I was just following up on the status of the project we discussed.  No response.  Do I do another follow-up message?  Is one inquiry enough? 

I am disappointed as I had hoped this would be the first breakthrough in providing freelance work.  Just learning my way and thought I would ask for advice from this the community.  Thanks for the feedback.

4 REPLIES 4
hoyle_editing
Community Member

I would assume that the client is either busy or things have changed so just not interested anymore - I wouldnt personally message again if you have already followed up once as the client either has seen your message and ignored it OR hasnt seen it yet so will get it when they next log in i guess.

Dont let it put you off. There is a lot of this kind of thing, but you get used to it and learn to move onto the next one 🙂

florydev
Community Member

I probably wouldn’t for a week but in this situation I definitely would keep hitting them up until they respond or I get tired of it. It’s one thing to follow up after an meeting it’s quite another when they say they are drawing a contract.

I would also say it may just not happen and that sucks but it happens. The important thing to remember is that you are not beholden to any client, keep seeking and you will find.
prestonhunter
Community Member