🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Invitation to Interview Scam or Valid?
Page options
edita_stanic
Community Member

Invitation to Interview Scam or Valid?

Hello!

I am new to upwork and am not quite familiar how things works. This morning I got an email that I've been selected for an online interview through Google Hangouts. This doesn't seem right to me, but could you please look into this and let me know if this is a scam?

Please see attached screenshot of the invite.

Your help on this matter is greatly appreciated.

**Edited for community guidelines**

11 REPLIES 11
prestonhunter
Community Member

Google Hangouts invite = scam

Edita:

Entry-level newbie Upwork freelancers are regularly targeted by scammers.

You shared a screenshot showing us an invitation which is from the most common scam on Upwork.

For now you should focus only on the jobs which you carefully select and send proposals to. All job invitations you receive at this time are scams.

When you gain more skill and experience, then you may start to receive legitimate invitations. That is something you may look forward to in the future.

At this time, if any client contacts you and mentions Google Hangouts, you should simply BLOCK them from communicating with you further. Don't waste your time.

Sounds good. Thank you!

Thank you for flagging this to us, Edita. I've checked and it looks like the job has already been taken down because it was in violation of Upwork ToS and action has been taken on the client account. 

Please check out this post for more tips on how to avoid questionable jobs and do use the flag option found on each job post to report any suspicious or inappropriate content.

Thank you.

~ Bojan
Upwork

Will do. Thank you, Bojan!

mtngigi
Community Member

It's a scam - flag it and forget about it.

Then read this:

https://community.upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/Tips-to-Avoid-Questionable-Jobs/td-p/240833

That's what I thought. Thanks!

martina_plaschka
Community Member