🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Ironies confront this new user!
Page options
budsybaby
Community Member

Ironies confront this new user!

I'm new here. But I have encountered many ironies so far. As a software engineer, I have had some curious things happen when trying out job proposals. Say, somebody wants a way to unlock Word files. Before I make the bid, I try it out. I whip up a quick C# console app for testing, and solve the problem in 12 minutes. I make the bid, only to be confronted with "Your proposal has been declined because you are unqualified."  Yeah. Sure.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
tlsanders
Community Member

Reasons are generally selected at random, if at all. Most won't respond at all. It's just a checkbox, and many clients check the same one for every freelancer they don't choose. Those are the good ones. Most just leave you hanging.

It's best just to bid and move on, never giving a job another thought unless you're invited to interview.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
tlsanders
Community Member

Reasons are generally selected at random, if at all. Most won't respond at all. It's just a checkbox, and many clients check the same one for every freelancer they don't choose. Those are the good ones. Most just leave you hanging.

It's best just to bid and move on, never giving a job another thought unless you're invited to interview.

jcullinan
Community Member

Well, first things first: don't work before you have a contract.

Doing the work before you even have an interview is just, well, not smart. And if it's a twelve minute job, why is someone with your experience even looking at it? Screen clients to match the level of work you can actually do. Cheap quickies are more headache than they're worth.

@Jess C wrote:

I work before, just to make sure like OP that I can deliver.  It's a curse, but I am perfectionist. But of course I don't give them.  If I win the contract fine.  If I don't it is part of my training/learning expense!