🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Is It Okay for a Client to Have you Buy Somet...
Page options
kelly_faye
Community Member

Is It Okay for a Client to Have you Buy Something and Reimburse you later?

Hi, I'm fairly new to Upwork and I just received a possible job, but the client wants me to purchase a product with my own money. Then after I write a "great" review, says they will reimburse me. However, the amount for the job is just $5 which doesn't cover the cost of the product which is $27. Is this acceptable practice?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Kelly,

Thanks for flagging this job to us. I'll share this with our team for further review and will take action as per our internal processes. 

Please, check this help article for more information on how to use the flag option found on each job post or message to report any suspicious or inappropriate content. Also, check out this post for more tips on how to avoid questionable jobs.

Thank you!

~ Bojan
Upwork

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
m_sharman
Community Member

Kelly B wrote:

Hi, I'm fairly new to Upwork and I just received a possible job, but the client wants me to purchase a product with my own money. Then after I write a "great" review, says they will reimburse me. However, the amount for the job is just $5 which doesn't cover the cost of the product which is $27. Is this acceptable practice?

No, it's a paid review for Amazon, which is against TOS for Amazon....

robin_hyman
Community Member

Red flag - decline!  

If you feel it's wrong, it's probably wrong.