🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Is a Skype interview normal?
Page options
dmfoltz
Community Member

Is a Skype interview normal?

I'm new to Upwork and still getting my bearings. 

I've submitted some proposals and twice had a response asking me to sign up for a Skype interview. I'm not opposed to interviewing, but it did give me pause. I suppose I was anticipating communication being done through Upwork's platform. The clients are Upwork Plus, but payment unverified. 

Does this sound fishy? Or am I being too cautious? 

23 REPLIES 23
wescowley
Community Member

Under the new rules, all communication before you have a contract with a client has to be done through Upwork messenger. So, no, you should not do your interview over Skype.

Thank you! 

NikolaS

Hi Danielle,

As the Wes already said, please let them know that sharing contact information before a contract has started is against Upwork’s Terms of Service and that all communications prior to the contract starting must take place on Upwork. We also encourage you to let us know if a TOS violation has happened by using the “Flag as Inappropriate” option throughout the platform. You can learn more about user reporting here.

Thank you, 

~ Nikola
Upwork

There is no "flag as inappropriate" button available within the messaging platform, and the flag button appears to not work on the job listing page at least in Chrome. The report won't submit and the tell us more text box will not activate. Also being contacted for a skype interview with details listed on an attached pdf.

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

Hi Mitch,

Thank you for reaching out and reporting this. We take every report of suspicious or inappropriate activity seriously, and every report goes directly to our Trust and Safety team for investigation.