🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Is it possible to find a job as a beginner an...
Page options
47381d04
Community Member

Is it possible to find a job as a beginner and not being contacted only by scammers?

Hi.

I am trying to find my first job here and every person that contacted me was a scammer. They wanted to chat on telegram, whatsapp or wated a security deposit etc.

I wasn't expecting that and it is really dissapointing. Any tipps for a beginner here? How can I recognize those scammers sooner? 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

Barbara P wrote:

Hi.

I am trying to find my first job here and every person that contacted me was a scammer. They wanted to chat on telegram, whatsapp or wated a security deposit etc.

I wasn't expecting that and it is really dissapointing. Any tipps for a beginner here? How can I recognize those scammers sooner? 

I would recommend that you at least finish your course before you start looking for work here. You're in a very overcrowded category, competing with thousands of people who have more experience than you do, and many of them charge lower rates. Clients want to hire freelancers who can get the job done and provide value to them, not people who are "aspiring" to be good at something. Your profile reads like someone who's looking for an entry-level job and not freelance work; there's a big difference. Unless you can rewrite it and demonstrate how you can benefit clients - instead of making it all about you and your passions - you will only be targetted by scammers.

As for how to spot scammers, there's an excellent post here: https://community.upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/List-of-red-flags-for-scams/m-p/1017044

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
NadaN
Staff
Staff

Hi Barbara, I'm sorry to hear this happened! Should you encounter this again, please report it to our Support team. That said, when you're searching for jobs, you can focus on: