cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there any way to warn other freelancers of a potential non-paying client?

Antony N Member Since: Mar 27, 2017
1 of 19

Hi there, I did a job for a client yesterday and as soon as I sent the approved files he went quiet (after being super responsive throughout the process). I'm new to Upwork and didn't understand the 'unverified payment' part (I think I just learned the hard way!).

I see that he has several other freelancers working for him right now. Now he might be legitimate and surface again, but I am concerned he is taking advantage of other people as well. My 'spider-sense' tells me he's not going to pay.

He also posted (an hour ago) the exact same rush job that I did yesterday - needing a logo done in the next few hours.

Is there any way to warn the other freelancers that he *might* not pay and they should request he verifies his payments source before they proceed?

Thanks!

Community Guru
Nia G Member Since: May 3, 2016
2 of 19

It's awesome that you want to warn others. If he continues to be unresponsive and you eventually decide to end the contract, you can leave a review for this client. (You should wait a bit before doing this, though.)

Other than that, you just have to trust that others will follow Upwork's suggestion to wait until a payment method is verified before starting to work/delivering work. 

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 19

There is no "black list" of bad clients.

A list would serve no purpose. Bad clients and scammers would simply continue to create new false identities.

What matters is behavior.

I can't know if "John Smith" (to make up a name) is a bad client.

But I CAN know that a client who asks me to send in work quickly because it's a "rush job," but doesn't set up an official Upwork contract or doesn't verify their payment method, is somebody I don't want to work for.

4 of 19