🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Large number of proposals received - how ...
Page options
8622b9c6
Community Member

Large number of proposals received - how to act?

Hello,

I am new to Upwork and I care about getting it right. I posted an offer for which I received a lot of proposals. I have since put my private offer so as not to receive any more. I would like to know if you respond individually to all those who have submitted a proposal to you, even if you do not retain the services ? 

Also I would like to know what is the normal wait time after you submit a proposal to someone. How long do you wait for him to accept the task? Is there an option to indicate an expiration time for this offer?

Thank you for helping me increase my knowledge in order to get it right : smileyhappy:

Marie

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "I don't think there would be anything wrong with giving them less than 2 working days if the job is urgent."

Urgency is in the eye of the beholder.

As a client, I sometimes post jobs which specify that I want to hire somebody "right now." I hire the first freelancer who applies, and then I remove the job posting. So if somebody is looking at my job post and takes 10 minutes to decide to apply, it will be too late. There actually ARE freelancers who like to work on immediate jobs. If that is something a client wants, there are freelancers to fill that need.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
richard_wein
Community Member

Marie Helene D wrote:

Hello,

I am new to Upwork and I care about getting it right. I posted an offer for which I received a lot of proposals. I have since put my private offer so as not to receive any more. I would like to know if you respond individually to all those who have submitted a proposal to you, even if you do not retain the services ?