Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Legal Issues

rmksalem
Rasheed S Member Since: Nov 10, 2016
1 of 10

Hi Guys,

My name is Rasheed Salem, and I'm new to UpWork, and super exicted to start working.

I do have one major question before I start, regarding the legal issues of me getting paid. Basically, this is the scenario:

I'm a 22 year old Egyptian, working from my home in Egypt. When asked to enter the legal name of my entity, and since I'm just a freelancer with no legal company, I just wrote my name. I then proceeded to check the box that proves that I am aware of the legal scenarios/issues etc. of the United States. I plan to get paid through paypal. My question is: What is my taxes situation? Am I required to pay any taxes to the US, and if so how can I do that? Am I required to declare the money I amek anywhere?

I would appreciate any help regarding my situation.

Thanks in advance.

Best

Rasheed

holland-jared
Jared H Member Since: Nov 4, 2016
2 of 10

I'm sure you will have to claim the amount in the United States somehow (online I'm sure). 

You will most likely have to make over $4,000 to actually need to claim it though. 

rmksalem
3 of 10

Thanks for the quick reply. I just searched a bit on UPwork and stumbled upon this "Form W8-BEN".. which is a form for non-US taxpayers. When I fill out and it is approved by Upwork, I am allowed to access my earning w/o upwork withholding any for tax purposes, or at least that's what I understood.

Does'nt this mean I'm free to declae my taxes in Egypt? I still fail to understant why I would have to pay U.S taxes.

But thanks again for your help, much appreciated.

kochubei_valeria
Community Manager
Valeria K Community Manager Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
4 of 10

Hi Rasheed,

As Petra explained, you are responsible for paying taxes in your own country not in the USA.

~ Valeria
Upwork
katrinabeaver
Community Guru
Katrina B Member Since: Jan 9, 2011
5 of 10

@Jared H wrote: