🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Milestones
Page options
pablocarranza69
Community Member

Milestones

Sorry if this is a silly question. I'm very new to the platform. When I'm submitting a proposal for a job, Upwork asks if I want to be paid for Milestones or a Fixed price. I have no preferences about that. Does my response to it influence on any level in the choice of work by the client?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

A Fixed Price project can have a single payment or multiple payments (aka milestones).

If a project is low value and you are willing to be paid in a single payment (usually when you submit the finished product to the client), then a single payment is all you'll need.

If you want to be paid as the project reaches different stages of completion, you'll need to set up milestones the define specific payments due from the client on specific dates.

Single payment arrangements are for small projects. Milestone arrangements are for larget value projects where you don't want to complete the project without having any payments from the client.

The dates of the milestones you agree to with the client are your commitment to have the work completed to a certain stage on each date. Give yourself a little slack - if you think it will take you five days to complete a stage, set up a milestone so you have seven days. Clients won't mind if you submit work early; they often don't like it if you are late in delivering promised work.

Make your last milestone a small one, so if the client stops communicating after the project is complete, you will only have to wait the default 14 on a small portion of the overall value of the project.