cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Milestones

Pablo C Member Since: Nov 7, 2018
1 of 5

Sorry if this is a silly question. I'm very new to the platform. When I'm submitting a proposal for a job, Upwork asks if I want to be paid for Milestones or a Fixed price. I have no preferences about that. Does my response to it influence on any level in the choice of work by the client?

Jacinto M Member Since: Jan 11, 2018
2 of 5

Hello! It does not usually influence, they are only the forms of payment that you accept for direct payment projects. Milestones are used for when a project has several tasks and as you complete them you can receive the payment. However, an agreement can be reached with the client before starting work (milestones or fixed price)

3 of 5

Hi Jacinto, thanks very much for replying!

I am writing at my proposal that I can do by milestones or Fixed price, as they wish...so I gess I am doing the right thing then, right?

Thanks!

Community Guru
Will L Member Since: Jul 9, 2015
BEST ANSWER
4 of 5

A Fixed Price project can have a single payment or multiple payments (aka milestones).

If a project is low value and you are willing to be paid in a single payment (usually when you submit the finished product to the client), then a single payment is all you'll need.

If you want to be paid as the project reaches different stages of completion, you'll need to set up milestones the define specific payments due from the client on specific dates.

Single payment arrangements are for small projects. Milestone arrangements are for larget value projects where you don't want to complete the project without having any payments from the client.