cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My client accepted my proposal but I can't find it in "My Jobs"???

tarntg
Tonia R Member Since: Nov 10, 2016
1 of 9

Hi everyone

I am new to Upwork and I'm a bit confused right now and don't know if I'm doing the right thing. So my first client replied me saying I am now part of his project and gave me a download link of the work etc. However when I go on Upwork and check my work is not there. I'm not sure how the system should work so if I start to work now, is my payment guaranteed? 

Thanks in advance. Man Wink

niag
Community Guru
Nia G Member Since: May 3, 2016
BEST ANSWER
2 of 9

If you haven't accepted a formal offer here and you can't find the project under the 'My Jobs' tab then you should not begin working. Any work you do when not under contract isn't covered by Upwork protection.  You can just let your client know that before you can begin working, you'll need him to set up a contract/send an offer via Upwork.  

View solution in original post

tarntg
3 of 9

Thank you for your reply. I'll be aware 🙂

kochubei_valeria
Community Manager
Valeria K Community Manager Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
4 of 9

Hi Tonia,

It's very important that you don't start working until you have a contract under My Jobs tab as Nia noted. We'll have the team review the client account you are referring to. Meanwhile, please check this post and especially "Safety First!" section of it.

~ Valeria
Upwork
prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
5 of 9

Tonia:

There are two possibilities:

a) the client is new and does not know how to send an official job offer properly, using the "Hire" button.

or

b) the client absolutely knows how to use Upwork correctly, and is trying to trick you into working for free or doing something else dangerous, like loading spyware onto your computer.