🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » My client wanted to contact me Via Skype for ...
Page options
rana-faizan
Community Member

My client wanted to contact me Via Skype for a video call.

Client wanted to interview me outside upwork. He shared a skpe email. I reported this message and suggested to use upwork feature.  I am new to upwork and my profile got some ratings after struggling hard. I am curious about my account. Am I at safe side ?.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Nope, although Skype is trash and I would wonder if the client has very bad taste in software.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
lysis10
Community Member

Rana F wrote:

Client wanted interview me outside upwork. He shared a skpe email. I reported this message and suggested to use upwork feature.  I am new to upwork and profile some got started getting ratings. I am curious about my account. Am I at safe side.

what? your account is at least 2 years old.

Yeah...I left using it after 1 project. Now I resumed the working as a full time freelancer.

I guess you refunded that 1 project.

Anyway, using skype is not violating ToS, if that's your question.

sharing skype ID for calling at upwork won't be an issue ?

Nope, although Skype is trash and I would wonder if the client has very bad taste in software.

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your conerns.

Although Jennifer may not love Skype...

Skype DOES work.

It IS okay to communicate with clients via Skype.

And the audio/video call tool built into the Upwork messenger tool almost never works.

So IF YOU WORK FOR UPWORK and your goal is to test the Upwork messenger tools' audio/video call tool, then you SHOULD use it.

But if you are not an Upwork employee, and your goal is to earn money from a client, then use Skype.