🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » My experience on upwork
Page options
bbdebb52
Community Member

My experience on upwork

Hello everyone!

I was hesitant about participating but thought sharing and communicating with the wonderful upwork community would be a good choice.

I'm new to upwork and managed to earn 1k in a couple of weeks. I was pretty amazed and inspired by the whole experience. I'm an academic working at a higher education institution in the UK. Yet, it isn't ideal to live on short-term contracts. It made me feel that my expertise and skills weren't appreciated and undervalued resulting in not getting something permanent. Thus, I was determined to be more independent this year (2024) but wasn't sure where and how to begin. 

Don't laugh, but I shared my problem with AI, and it advised me to give upwork a shot. Man, this might be one of the best recommendations I've received. You see, I've always been resilient and determined, but my issue was executing my energy in the wrong places. In terms of measurement, I managed to convince clients to use my services in a matter of days compared to wasting years of my life hunting jobs to end up disappointed.