🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » My first contract is paused as client's accou...
Page options
kalpanadixit
Community Member

My first contract is paused as client's account get suspended

Hi Guys,

I am new to upwork and after struggling for a few months, I finally got my first contract. I worked for a few hours also which are auto tracked by upwork app. But suddenly after working for a week, I got a message that my client has set the weekly limit from NO LIMIT to ZERO and this was not communicated to me from my client's end.

We had an active conversation about work on a daily basis but after this notification, I am not receiving any revert from my client and he is constantly showing as AWAY.

I am worried about two things: 

1. Payment of my worked hours - auto tracked by upwork desktop app

2. My Review - As this was my first project and if the client's account gets suspended, will it be bad for my opening reviews? How will I get my first review in this case?

6 REPLIES 6
prestonhunter
Community Member

Kalpana:

Welcome to Upwork, and congratulations on getting hired for your first contract.

Your client changed the weekly limit to zero hours. Do not take this personally. ANY client has the right to do this with an hourly contract at ANY time. This may mean little or nothing with regards to your work as a freelancer. What if this client has 10 freelancers working for him, and he has a busy Christmas vacation, with many family activities. He will be away from his office and won't have time to monitor the work that freelancers are doing. So he set them ALL to zero hours temporarily, and will unpause things after his vacation. This is a possibility.

re: "I am worried about two things: Payment of my worked hours - auto tracked by upwork desktop app"

You have nothing to worry about. You will be paid for all hours that you worked, regardless of whether or not a client (a) pauses a contract; (b) sets the maximum number of hours to zero; [or] (c) closes the contract.